Prices named first-ever repeat winner of Golden Nail Summit Award

Last Updated by Chip Chandler on
Dr. William T. and Jimmie Dale Price were given the Summit Award

By Chip Chandler — Producer

In a first, Amarillo art collectors and philanthropists Dr. William T. and Jimmie Dell Price again were named the winner of the top award at tonight's Golden Nail Awards.

It's the first time the Summit Award has ever gone to a previous winner. The Prices, who were nominated by Amarillo Museum of Art, previously won the award in 1997, as well as an individual award in 1988. 

The awards — held Thursday in the Globe-News Center for the Performing Arts — honor individuals, businesses and foundations that have made financial or in-kind contributions to or have volunteered for fine arts organizations in Amarillo and the area.

"Amarillo and our surrounding area have a thriving arts scene because of the support our community shows. We think it is necessary to not only honor these people and businesses but to host an event that says thank you," said Kashion Smith, director of tourism for Amarillo Convention & Visitor Council.

Those nominated for this year's awards by area arts groups were responsible for donating nearly $2.2 million to the organizations, with nearly $1.2 million of that coming from individuals, according to Smith.

"After 35 years and so many extraordinary winners honored as Summit awardees, it is time to realize some are worth commemorating more than once," awards host Jason Crespin said in making the presentation, according to prepared remarks. "It’s time to recognize that winning once didn’t stop this couple from continuing their legacy of giving. They have almost single-handedly built the Amarillo Museum of Art’s Asian collection into the envy of museums worldwide.

"Their passion and gallery will live on for years, but tonight, we honor them with the highest award of the evening," Crespin said.

The Price's Asian collection was recently featured in Panhandle PBS's The Season.

Individual award winners included Mike and Dalia Engler, nominated by Amarillo Symphony and AMoA; and Eleanor Glazener, nominated by the symphony, Amarillo Opera and West Texas A&M University.

The Englers were cited as "two of the museum’s most enthusiastic and stalwart advocates" in Crespin's presentation.

The Englers' moderinist art collection also was recently featured in Panhandle PBS's The Season.

"It is with great reverence that we acknowledge this kind woman who gives 'under the radar' for so many organizations in our community," he said in presenting the award to Glazener.

A special award was given to Center City of Amarillo for its work in securing the Amarillo Cultural District.

"This designation not only draws attention to our arts community, it gives stature and credibility, as well as marketing around the state," Crespin said, according to prepared remarks.

Business awards were given to Duncan & Boyd Jewelers, nominated by the symphony; and Happy State Bank, nominated by Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum, Lone Star Ballet, Chamber Music Amarillo, AMoA Alliance and the symphony.

Duncan & Boyd will close later this year and was cited for decades of support for the arts. Happy State was recognized for significant underwriting support for several organizations.

Distinguished volunteer awards were given to Alice and Douglass Hyde, nominated by PPHM for their assistance with and hosting of an opening-night party for the museum's 2017 Lonesome Dove exhibition; and Terry Hein of Dalhart, recognized for her work with the LaRita Performing Arts Center.

Distinguished up-and-coming volunteer awards were given to Taylor Faught-Bonifield and Sara Archer for their work organizing a record-breaking Christmas Roundup for AMoA Alliance.

Foundation awards were given to the Mays Foundation for its support of AMoA Alliance and Christmas Roundup, as well as the symphony; and to the Meadows Foundation in Dallas for its support of the opera.

Golden Touch Awards, given to "a new, unique, or innovative arts event or activity during the preceding calendar year," were given to WT's Live at the Paramount, a screening of The Mark of Zorro with live orchestral accompaniment by the WT Symphony, written by WT professor BJ Brooks; to AMoA's Achievement in Art Exhibition of the collection of Montgomery H.W. Ritchie; and to Canadian Arts Alliance and the Citadelle Art Foundation's hosting of a town-wide tape-art installation and education initiative.

The awards are distributed by the arts committee of the Amarillo Convention and Visitor Council. Members are Angela Knapp-Eggers, chair, and Melody Alexander, Eric Barry, Sherman Bass, Caroline Kneese, Mary Jane Johnson, Carol Lovelady, Phyllis Nickum, Gaynelle Riffe, Bobby Steele and Patrick Swindell. An anonymous jury will vote on the awards winners.



Chip Chandler is a producer for Panhandle PBS. He can be contacted at, at @chipchandler1 on Twitter and on Facebook.

DONATE_BUTTON.jpg The HandleThe Handle Savor the Goods: Local Cuisine, Ethnic FlairSavor the Goods: Local Cuisine, Ethnic Flair Yellow City Sounds Live
Search TV Schedule
Find your favorite episodes, programs or movies Back to the TV Schedule Grid
CURRENT PROVIDER: | Change Provider Print TV Schedule